A | A | A
Norway’s official websites abroad

Schengen Visa

The Schengen Area is a group of 26 European countries: The 22 EU member states (Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden) and four EFTA member states (Norway, Iceland, Switzerland and Liechtenstein).

From 25th March 2001, Norway has been part of the Schengen cooperation. For visa purposes, this means that a visa for entry to any one of the countries in the Schengen area will normally also be valid for all other Schengen countries within the period of validity. However, over a period of 180 days, you cannot spend more than a total of 90 days in the Schengen area.

A Schengen Visa may be granted to applicants who are travelling for tourism, business or family visits, etc. when the intention is to return to the applicant's country of residence afterwards. A visa to the Schengen countries is issued on condition that the applicant leaves the Schengen area before the visa expires. If you remain for longer than the visa period, you may be expelled. You may also encounter difficulties in connection with any future applications for visa or residence permit. A Schengen visa is a visitor’s visa which does not entitle you to work in any of the Schengen countries.

Visas are issued to applicants who meet the requirements of the Visa Code (EC) No 810/2009 and other relevant Schengen Regulations: click here

Where to apply?

You should apply for a visa through the Embassy/Consulate-General or a representation of the member state that is the main destination for your journey. If the main destination cannot be determined, the application should be submitted to the consulate/representation of the Schengen country where you will spent most time. If the visits to different Schengen countries are of equal length, the application should be handed in to the consulate/representation of the first Schengen country you will enter.

The Royal Norwegian Embassy in Lilongwe represents 17 out of the 26 countries in the Schengen area. This means that the Embassy it authorized to issue Schengen Visas (type C) for a short stay of maximum 90 days, on behalf of the following countries:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Italy
  • Iceland
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • the Netherlands
  • Portugal
  • Norway
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland (only for Malawian citizens who are holders of diplomatic, service or special passports)
  • Spain

" id="ctl00_Main_MainBodyRegion_MainBodySelector_body_MainBodyFooter1_ucSocialSharing_uxSocialMedialink" class="addthis_button"> Bookmark and Share